ME researchers go for gold in green tech innovation

CTU-MC (Mechanical Engineers)

Mechanical Engineering(ME) students’ Compact Innovative Refrigerant Recovery Machine placed  Cebu Technological University(CTU)  at the center of green technology pursuits of  Philippine Society of Mechanical Engineers-Mandaue Chapter (PSME-MC) and  Mandaue City during the  4th Mechanical Engineering Celebration on October 1 through 5 at Park Mall.

Eric Vincent Trazona, Ma. Isabel Bardoquillo and Francis Rodinn  Becaldo (BSME graduating students) emerged as champions for their innovation targeting ozone layer preservation.

Bardoquillo , in an interview with UPO,  shared how the team was able to score high in  environmental impact being one of the mechanics. “The team’s main contribution is on the modification of an existing design geared toward portability and most especially  the   great amount of freon to be recovered. So, our research is more focused on preserving the ozone layer.”

PSME’s promotion of technical advancement seeks to gain global recognition especially with its mantra of preserving the environment inculcated in every student researcher involved.

Becaldo also quipped: “We never expected to win  but we were certainly confident about sharing our innovative concept.”

When the team lost to CIT-U last month in a match sponsored by PSME-Cebu Chapter, Engr. Jonathan A. Miraballes,chairman of ME Department, mentioned the lack of consistency in staying aggressive throughout the competition.

With his recent success, Coach Miraballes revealed his team’s edge among others: “The mastery of the subject provides a smooth delivery of the topic, persuasiveness and ability to sustain the question and answer portion of the competition.”

Becaldo, on behalf of the team, added: ” Through research we see our capabilities, and we definitely want to leave a legacy in CTU.”

Meanwhile, along with winning in research presentation category was  landing 3rd place in the quiz bowl. The team comprised of Joel Inot Jr., Mark Vincent Mamigo, Jun Aro Estrella, Reymart Inoc, MIchito Nagasawa, Rodel Resit, Bhong Fanonial and James Comaingking Jr. (UPO)