Flexible Learning System approved for AY 2020-2021

School opening come September is a sure win-win for both students and faculty of Cebu Technological University,  following the approval of Php 60, 178, 100 for a Flexible Learning System during the special board virtual meeting  on June 3rd.

The implementation effective A.Y. 2020-2021 will provide connectivity kits to all 45,451 beneficiaries, about 800 of whom are teachers, as per BOR Resolution 200, s. of 2020, which also underscores the General Appropriations Act (GAA) and Special Trust Fund (STF) as sources of the allocation.

With blended learning at the center of the “new normal” setup, fiber cables will be installed in strategic areas across Cebu Province where Telco Signal is  intermittent or not available.

This is for increased network capacity of CTU faculty and students stationed in almost all key northern and southern cities and municipalities.

Flexible learning setup is in the works, with CTU AIC Director Johannes M. Camasura (3rd from left) and his team preparing fiber cables to expand connectivity across Cebu Province.

The Department of Information and Communication Technology (DICT) has, since 2016, increased CTU Main’s internet bandwidth through fiber connection, as part of the CHED Philippine-California Advanced Research Institutes (PCARI) Research and Instructional Infrastructure for Mentoring and Collaboration (PCARI-PRIME) project, according to CTU Automation, Innovation and Computing (AIC) Director Johannes M. Camasura.

The internet bandwidth has been shared by all nine (9) external campuses, which distributes an average monthly utilization of 52TB, with a browsing experience per user of at least 10mbps.

Dir. Camasura has since been keeping his team busy in acting upon the administration’s move seen as a “proactive response to the global pandemic” vis-a-vis education.

By August, academics are expected to join the webinar on Learning Management System focusing on the automation of learning paradigms as per CTU VPAA memo GO520-02, s. of 2020. UICPA