Philippines-Canada Culinary Cup (PCCP) 2021

Over 60 students and faculty members from CTU campuses in Barili, Carmen, Danao and Main observed the Philippines-Canada Culinary Cup (PCCP) organized by the Philippine and Canadian institutions on April 14 though 15, 2021 through Facebook live aired by Philippine Culinary Cup (PCC).

The first culinary competition between Philippine and Canadian schools aimed to inspire Philippine Higher Education Institutions (PHEIs) to consider innovating their engagement in internationalization activities.

Representatives from Philippines’ De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde, and Canada’s Camosun College and Nova Scotia Community College joined either Team Adobo or Team Poutine for the cook-off.

Judging the competition were executive chef of Oliver & Bonacini and Chef Thomas Carey of Nova Scotia Community College.

The PEPTARSUS Corp. President J.M. Antonio Pascual and Senior Trade Commissioner Meng Lulu LeBlanc of the Canadian Embassy in the Philippines announced Team Poutine as the winner and Team Adobo as the silver medalist.

“This competition showed the stronger education collaboration between our countries and culinary arts and how academic partnerships can transcend challenges and innovation as long as there is commitment and shared vision for the best interest of students,” LeBlanc concluded.

Aside from the virtual competition, the PCCP also included two sessions: Canadian Gastronomy Masterclass and Study Hospitality, Tourism and Culinary Arts in Canada Masterclass in March.

CTU Bachelor of Science in Hospitality Management (BSHM) and Bachelor of Science in Tourism Management (BSTM) students received their PCC Masterclass certificates thereafter.

Canadian chefs at the event included James Antolin, Carlo Miguel, Gilbert Noussitou, Ashley Kiptoo, and Andrew Stevens, while CTU faculty members present were Dr. Andrea Matildo, Prof. Ma. Nikkilyn Abrasado, Prof. Gilmary Tarnate, Prof. Queeny Marie Abad, Prof. Ma. Leslie Basallo, Prof. Carmencita Quiño, Prof. Alma Arnejo, and Dr. Marjorie Barcenal Añero. /Roedel Blanche Suan/CTU Main