Cebu Technological University – Argao

Campus History

The Cebu State College of Science and Technology, Agro-Industrial and Forestry College, Argao, Cebu Campus (CSCST-AIFC) began as an extension school of the Cebu Provincial High School in Cebu City on February 17, 1945 before the Americans landed in Cebu as a continuation of the pre-war classes of the said school. The order was made by Colonel Decoroso Rosales, Chief of the Civil Affairs Committee of the Cebu Resistance Movement. It was managed and run by teachers of the pre-war Cebu Provincial High School from Argao and some teachers who evacuated to the town. The acting principal was Mr. Gervasio Miñoza, who later became an instructor at the University of the Philippines.

On July 1, 1945, the honorable members of the Provincial Board of the province and the school authorities permanently established the Cebu South Provincial High School in Argao with Candido H. Sugatan as Principal. He was succeeded by Mr. Florentino Año, an Argawanon, when he was promoted as Secondary School Supervisor, Division of Cebu in 1945.

In 1949, the present buildings were constructed out of the war damage funds. Finally, on September 28, 1950, it was formally inaugurated. In the same year, Mr. Tito F. Sarmago took over as Principal when Mr. Año was extended a study leave. During the term of Mr. Sarmago, the school was made as a pilot school in the Visayas and Mindanao which was supported by the ICA-NEC besides the provincial government. It received financial and commodity aids and technical assistance from ICA-NEC.

With the initiative of the late Congressman Isidro C. Kintanar, a bill was passed in Congress on June 18, 1961 converting the school into Cebu South National High School.

This was followed up through the bill authored by Ex-Congressman Gaudencio Beduya which was passed on June 19, 1978 converting the school again to Cebu South Agro-Industrial School. The head of the school was upgraded to Vocational School Administrator was Mr. Leandro E. Kintanar.

With the approval of Batas Pambansa Bilang 412 on June 10, 1983 authored by Dr. Julian Yballe and other Assemblymen from Region VII, the school was converted to Cebu State College of Science and Technology, Argao External Campus. It became a satellite school of CSCST (formerly Cebu School of Arts and Trades) together with the nine (9) other vocational schools in the province of Cebu. On August 12, 1984, it was formally named CSCST, Agro-Industrial and Forestry College with Mr. Urbano Bajenting as the First College Superintendent followed by Dr. Wilfredo P. Baterna from 1996 to 1999. In the year 2000, Dr. Pedrito C. Pontillas was designated as Officer-in-Charge and later as College Superintendent. On November 10, 2009 by virtue of Republic Act (RA) No. 9744, the Cebu State College of Science and Technology together with its nine external campuses was converted into Cebu Technological University (CTU). CTU Argao was headed by Dr. Pedrito C. Pontillas until his transfer to CTU Tuburan on December 31, 2011. On January 1, 2011, Dr. Panfilo E. Ciriaco assumed office as Campus Director of CTU Argao. He was again transferred to CTU Main due to his promotion as Vice-President for Production, Extension and Business Affairs effective February 4, 2013. On the same date, Dr. Lynnette Matea S. Camello assumed office as the first lady Campus Director of CTU Argao until May 5, 2015. She was followed by another lady Campus Director, Dr. Juanita P. Pinote on May 6, 2015 followed by Dr. Eingilbert C. Benolirao who recently assumed office as the new Campus Director until the present.

The following is a chronological order of the different administrator of CTU Argao since it was founded in 1945 as a provincial high school to its present status as a university:

A. As the Cebu Provincial High School (CPHS)

1945 - Mr. Candido H. Sugatan, Principal

B. As the Cebu South Provincial High School (CSPHS)

1945 - Mr. Candido H. Sugatan, Principal

1945 - Mr. Florentino Año, Principal

1946 - Mr. Tito F. Sarmago, Principal

C. As the South National High School (CSNHS)

1961 – Mr. Tito F. Sarmago, Principal

D. As the Cebu Southern Agro – Industrial School (CSAIS)

1971 – Mr. Leandro E. Kintanar, OIC

1972 – Mr. Leandro E. Kintanar, Principal

1973 – Mr. Leandro E. Kintanar, Vocational Sch. Admin. I

1974 – Mr. Urbano Bajenting, OIC

1975 – Mr. Urbano Bajenting, Vocational Sch. Admin. II

E. As the Cebu State College of Science and Technology – Agro – Industrial and Forestry College (CSCST – AIFC)

1984 – Mr. Urbano Bajenting, Voc. College Supt.

1990 – Mr. Urbano Bajenting , Voc. Sch. Supt. III

1996 – Dr. Wilfredo P. Baterna, College Superintendent

1996 – Dr. Pedrito C. Pontillas, College Superintendent

F. As the Cebu Technological University – Argao Campus

2010 – Dr. Pedrito C. Pontillas, Campus Director

2011 – Dr. Panfilo E. Ciriaco, Campus Director

2013 – Dr. Lynnette Matea S. Camello, Campus Director

2015 – Dr. Juanita P. Pinote, Campus Director

2020 - Dr. Pedrito C. Pontillas, Campus Director

2021- Dr. Eingilbert Benolirao, Campus Director