DOST, NRCP name two outstanding Filipino researchers from CTU

The Department of Science and Technology-National Research Council of the Philippines (DOST-NRCP) declared 10 outstanding Filipino researchers of 2019, two of whom are from CTU.

Dr. Adrian Ybañez and Dr. Lanndon Ocampo, being two of three awardees outside Luzon, were presented at the joint NRCP Annual Scientific Conference and 87th General Membership Assembly conducted online on June 30th.

Contributing much in the field of veterinary medicine nationally and internationally, Dr. Ybañez made advancements in molecular detection methods, pathogenic protozoa, DNA sequences of various pathogens, and animal tick-borne diseases in the Philippines.

His portfolio also includes 50 scientific publications and other awards as Outstanding Cebuano Youth Leader, VPAP Outstanding Veterinarian in Veterinary Research Practice, and PSAS Outstanding Young Professional in Veterinary Research.

As CTU’s vice president for research and development, he ensures that academics are engaged in knowledge generation and dissemination as these determine the university’s impact on several communities. Recent efforts of securing external grants for the university is a huge plus moving forward, enabling his constituents to conduct major projects.

His achievement is reflective of how much he values research so much so that more and more academics have joined NRCP, with his constant prodding for them to work alongside the nations’s think tank.

The agency also honored Dr. Ocampo whose achievements in engineering and industrial researches have led the country’s manufacturing companies and supply chain sector to adopt sustainable practices and risk analysis in light of climate change activities. Over 70 international peer-reviewed publications have his name, enough to warrant his capability.

Referring to his recent success, he never missed out on expressing his thoughts on facebook, describing CTU as his  “new home” that supported him throughout his research. He added: “Now, I just want to share this award with all people who helped me and are helping me to make this happen.”

The university has tapped his expertise in mentoring colleagues apart from his regular teaching job, which yields an increase in publications in high-impact journals.

Both awardees have contributed in shaping the university’s behavior toward research and publication. CTU President Rosein Ancheta Jr., banks on their leadership in a sense that the institution’s success is primarily based upon the collective behavior of the faculty whose main goal is innovation.

Other honorees are affiliated with the University of the Philippines (UP) System, DOST-Philippine Nuclear Research Institute (PNRI), Philippine Rice Research Institute (PRRI), University of San Agustin (USA), and Philippine Normal University (PNU). /UICPA