CTU-Tuburan inks deal with DA-BAR, LGU-Tuburan; Receives P5M Grant

Photo credits to CTU -Tuburan

The Department of Agriculture – Bureau of Agricultural Research (DA-BAR) sealed a partnership between CTU-Tuburan Campus and the Local Government Unit of Tuburan through the signing of a Memorandum of Agreement. This agreement awarded a P5 million grant to the campus under the Agricultural Competitiveness Enhancement Fund (ACEF) on February 16, 2024, at Tuburan 360, Kabangkalan, Tuburan.

The signing ceremony, witnessed by dozens of representatives from various National Government Agencies, took place during the Tuburan Coffee Technical Working Group quarterly meeting. CTU-Tuburan was represented by Dr. Ma. Carla Abaquita, the campus director; Dr. Cerela Looc, the Dean of the College of Agriculture; and Siegfried Mendoza, CTU- Tuburan’s Intellectual Property Technology Business Management office (IPTBM) and Agri-Aqua Technology Business Incubator (ATBI) Director.

Dignitaries present at the event included DA-BAR Undersecretary Mercedita Sombilla, DA-BAR Director Junel Soriano, and NEDA-7 Regional Director Jennifer Bretaña. The grant aims to support research activities that promote technology commercialization in agriculture through IPTBM office. It also seeks to sustain and support technology business incubation through ATBI and upgrade Research and Development facilities, including the College of Agriculture Farmers’ Training Center and the Center for Precision and Sustainable Agriculture research facility on the campus. / Maica Sali